The dogs and I have been walking every morning.   This morning’s walk was delayed by me needing to fix breakfast for David,  who was home for 24 hours.  After he left the dogs (most notably Tucker) started becoming annoying.  So I pulled on my boots and said let’s go!

image

The ferns in the woods are getting tall and thick.  Tucker negotiates by sproinging over them like a deer.

image

Phoebe, on the other hand,  walks around them,  finding a path. 

image

This amazingly colorful creature is a damselfly of some sort.  At first I thought it was a butterfly by the way they were flying. 

So even though it rained last night I decided to walk down to the river,  mainly to show you why I don’t generally walk down to the river in late spring and summer.   My previous walk down there is just below and was 7 weeks ago or so.

The way down was boggy and buggy.   I saw this guy.

image

I understand why David refers to it as a cedar swamp.   A couple times my boots almost got pulled off!  I finally reached what I think of as the Island,  the high spot between the swamp and the river field.

image

I was wrong about the grass.   It’s more like 4 ft high out there.   There are some paths through it,  most likely from the deer.

image

Closer to the water it isn’t as tall.   I could see Sadie.   Tucker was sproinging through it like a deer.  Add he made his way across I heard “rustle rustle rustle splash!” as he ran out of field and ended up in the river.   Here are some pictures of him sproinging.

image

image

image

He’s such a happy dog!

Sadie chose to go swimming again.   Phoebe waded a bit.   Tucker again took an unexpected swim and didn’t seem to like it.  Getting back through the grad field was a little challenging.   The path had closed up behind us and I hadn’t checked for a landmark.   Now I know it’s the big dead tree.  

Then it was back through the forest floor and home again.  Every dog is now napping quietly.  

Here’s a tuckered Tucker.

image

He thinks my hammock makes a fine bed.

