DSC09444May 24 – Avery says, “I am fierce!”   Fear him.  hee!  He’s developing this wee mohawk just now.  His whole body is a mix of fluffy grey chickness and silk black feathers.  His feet have their feathers and it looks like he’s wearing fuzzy slippers.  I definitely have a pet chicken now.  He will follow me around in the garden, though since he’s still no bigger than a handful, I have to watch him.  He likes to go right between my feet.   If I am moving a lot, I make sure he’s safely away.  Yesterday he got some quality sun and dirt time and seemed to enjoy that.  In the evenings when we’re watching tv, I take him out of his box and he likes to sit on my shoulder or chest.  He no longer fits under my hand to sleep, but is quite content to settle in to watch tv with us.

David needed to borrow my camera and wanted a picture to email, so I changed the setting to VGA instead of 6 mp, which is where it is by default as I learned *that* lesson (I thought) years ago when one of my best ever chickadee pictures, one that would make such a fine Christmas card, is tiny and not printable.   grr.  Of course I forgot to set it back later and didn’t realize until I downloaded these pictures and so they are basically tiny.  Good for my blog, but not for me to print.  I will have to get more Avery mohawk pictures before it goes away.