July 11:  In which we are not happy.  Not happy at all.

I give you Exhibit 1:

july 11 bear destruction ex 1

The only one not destroyed beyond use is the hummingbird feeder.  It was carefully unscrewed from the base giving me the impression the bear (for that’s the culprit here) unscrewed it and drank it down.  Thistle feeder, broken.  Little house feeder, broken.

Exhibit 2:

july 11 exhibit 2

This feeder had previously withstood bear abuse.  Before it had been knocked to the ground and mauled.  This time I guess it was too firmly in the tree and so the bear, what?  hung from it with its considerable weight?  Snapped the base in half.  What’s worse?  It was empty to begin with…

Exhibit 3:

july 11 exhibit 3

The second of my thistle feeders.  What I didn’t get a picture of (because I was too mad at the time and just fixed them) was the bent over shepherd’s hooks – one completely bent to the ground.

So, it came by at 12:52 a.m. because that’s when the dogs went ballistic.  I got up to check but it wasn’t within range of my flashlight at the time.  I figured it was either bear or raccoon and didn’t want the dogs chasing either at that time of the night, so I told them to shut up and go to bed.

On a lighter note:

july 11 avery

Avery just keeps getting cuter.

