226b aug 14 aiiiieee2

August 14 – yeah, so the chickens got out.  I was gathering the broody hens to put them in their own pen to stop the silliness.  Sadie wanted to see what I was up to and opened the gate and the hens all said “wheeee!!!!” and ran for it.  Fine, I think.  Let them eat some bugs.  I did not expect this!  So, I went out to check on the tomato’s progress, hoping for the ripeness to be at picking level, and this is what I find. Oh, the humanity.  Or tomato-inity.  Or whatever.  The worst part?  Stoopid chickens don’t even LIKE tomatoes.  They were just seeing what it was.  Since they don’t have hands, they use their beaks.  They left me the pecked carcass of my first tomato…

226a aug 14 aieeee

so so sad.  They had only pecked one side, so I chopped it in half and popped the remains in the fridge.  Now the tomatoes are encircled with chicken wire and boards, to keep stoopid evil chickens away…

