Aug 19 – The Ladies.  I love my colorful flock of chickens.  Oh!  I just noticed that they are aligned in pecking order.  Charlotte on the left is the head chicken.  Pearl on the right is the bottom of the order.  The Wyandottes are nearer the bottom than the Australorp and are thus always trying to improve their lot.  When I let the Rangers into the yard, they picked on them a bit.  The Rangers are big enough to run for safety, though, so I don’t worry too much.  Drusilla, the Silver-Laced Wyandotte, being dead center, is the one who tries hardest to either go further up or not fall further down.  When I was trying to figure out what to name her, I was thinking Cruella, as she’s rather mean sometimes.  Somehow that lead to Drusilla (who, in Buffyverse, is quite evil, so it works quite well).

If I get another Buff Orpington (which I do want to do), I am naming her Buffy for sure.  I am going to a chicken swap next month and hope for three chickens; a Speckled Sussex (on right), a Barred Rock (striped feathers!) and a Buff Orpington.  Then I will feel my flock is complete…for now.  🙂

