Sept 18 – Chicken swap/show/sale in Montrose, MI.  I went with a couple friends, which made it all the more fun.  I came home with five new chickens.  These lovely feathers belong to the two bantam Cochin girls I got.  One is blue and the other a splash.  Since I couldn’t find Blue Orpingtons there (barely found any Buffs!) I got these little ladies instead.  Pictures of all the newcomers are on the chicken page of the blog.  There’s a link at the top of the page.

We left early, at 5:00 am, for the two-hour drive.  There were lots of roosters there (it’s a good place to find new homes for them, although quite a few were being purchased as food) but lots of other critters, too.  Rabbits were in profusion (Red Satins were my favorites…but rabbits kick my allergies up worse than any other creature, so I can’t treat them as I’d like – beloved house pets.  In a hutch outside is okay for my allergies, but not my sensibilities…) as well as some ducks, turkeys, peafowl, pheasants, goats.   Lots of chickens.   It was very fun and quite informative.  I like getting to see lots of different types of chickens.

