Oct 24 – And this is what all the BLUE became!  I am so very pleased with this (and can happily report that my mom is too, and so is my grandmother, who likes to sit and look at it).  I first saw such a quilt in a book I picked up at the library.  The artist, Frances Holliday Alford, had done one in yellow and there was also a square one in a rainbow motif.  I later saw her in Quilting Arts magazine and there was an orange one as well.  She has done the full spectrum.  Me with my love of stuff and buttons and such couldn’t help but want to do something similar.  And I knew my mom would really enjoy it.  I titled it “Bits of Blue, Bits of Me, Bits of You” because you know I come by my fascination with buttons and small things honestly…

Next I plan to accumulate orange.  Orange stuff I still need because it’s a newer color for me.  Blue’s always been there while my fascination with orange is of more recent vintage.  I have found a number of cool things I already had (like a Tony the Tiger whistle, a tiny Pokey doll, a tiny troll doll with orange hair, and a tiny rubber duck wearing a fez) along with buttons and beads.  But hey, if you have some tiny orange thing and would like to send it to me, I would be happy to include it!

