July 19 – My garden is producing zucchini.  I also, of course, have a surplus of eggs.  One of the people who occasionally buy eggs from me mentioned making a quiche.  I had never made quiche, had actually only eaten once before (an amazing pesto mozzarella bit of goodness).  Looking at recipes I realized it is essentially a frittata in a crust, and I like frittata, so I looked for zucchini quiche recipes, wanting to use what I had.

The recipes I found all said to saute the zucchini first.  I didn’t.  There was a bit of extra water but cooking it a bit longer seems to have taken care of that.  The grape tomatoes were a whim.  I thought they’d be pretty, which they are, but they also balance the dish nicely with a touch of acid.  Good stuff this.

So here’s *my* recipe:

1 pie crust (I started using the recipe from America’s Test Kitchen)

3 smallish zucchini, sliced
4 eggs (separate one)
½ c sour cream
½ c plain yogurt (I used greek yogurt)
1 c cheese (¼ sharp cheddar, ¾ monterey jack or swiss)

½ c grape tomatoes, sliced

Put pie crust in pan (I use a deep-dish pie pan). Whip up the egg white from the separate egg and brush the crust with it. Poke crust with a fork and bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes.

When the pie crust is lightly browned, take it out of the oven and let it cool a bit. Lower oven to 350 degrees.

Layer ½ of the sliced zucchini in the bottom of the pie pan.
Layer cheese on top of the zucchini.
Beat the eggs (including the separated one) together with sour cream and yogurt. Add salt and pepper to taste, along with any herbs you might like. I tend to like summer savory in this dish. Pour egg mixture over cheese.
Layer remaining zucchini over eggs, then add tomatoes. Bake at 350 degrees until the egg is set in the middle – takes a bit over an hour.

I also added in a yellow summer squash and it was good too.

I used yogurt and sour cream because I didn’t have ricotta and half and half.  I just remembered that I also added a couple tablespoons of powdered soy milk and a quarter cup of water to the egg mixture one time, but not always.  It seems to thicken it up a bit.  Anyways, I’ve made three in less than a week and we love them.

