I consider it “Project Horse” because these riding lessons are my first step to finally realizing the dream of having a horse of my own.  Each lesson teaches me a little more about interacting with horses and what to expect from myself when with them.

April 17 – Second riding lesson of this spring series.  Today I rode Charlie.  He’s an older guy, prone to having his own mind, but he and I get along very well.  I feel very comfortable on him, like we fit together.  There was a little problem getting his bridle on, but I got some experienced help and we were soon underway.  Before I went to the barn, I took my SLR to the little booth that overlooks the arena and set it up.  I had my remote with me.

It was a beautiful day out.  We played “Simon Says” and then did some weaving between cones at a trot.  Charlie did what I asked him every time.  I finally got the hang of keeping my heel down – it feels very exaggerated, but is evidently correct.  I also had to mount from the right side again, as my sprained ankle just can’t push me up, yet can hold me in the stirrup.

Trotting!

Vanity pose without my hat.  I was happy to have it out in the sun.  Even with hat and sunscreen, my face is rather pink this morning.

