June 17 – Ghosts of bacon past…I discovered baking bacon on a cookie sheet and have never gone back to the frying pan.  It all gets done at the same time without me getting spattered with hot grease, and it never gets over done.  I just never noticed the shadows it left til this time.

June 18 – Big thunderstorms this morning.  The lighting is interesting.  This is just out my living room window.  The wildflowers are blooming like crazy.

I put off chicken chores as long as possible, but finally decided those meaties had to eat.

I am so glamorous in my ducky pants and boots.  You might notice the barn door is open back there.  I’ve begun letting the meaties out to graze.  Because I had the fence in front, all the chickens got to know each other and there’s been very little squabbling.  Occasionally a hen will peck one of the youngsters  to put him in his place, but overall it’s quite peaceful out there, chicken wise.  Goose wise is another story.  Henry is something of a bully and thinks nothing of grabbing a chicken, almost any chicken, by its feathers and dragging it squawking.  The one chicken all three geese fear is JuJuBee, the Dominique pullet.  She is the lowest of the chickens in the pecking order and is determined that she is going to be above the geese.  So when she struts over to their food, they make a peculiar little squeak and run away.  The other chickens get a lowered head and hissing.  It’s a very strange thing to watch.

June 19 is sunny and warm.  I had to run into town for chick food and on my way home I stopped at Lake Mitchell to see how the water felt.  I never went swimming in Washington’s lakes because they all felt like glacier melt.  Here the lakes get warm in the summer, so I did a little wading.  It felt good.

June 20 – Four-week old geese.  Their bodies are downy and they have good feathering over their wings and tails.  They are getting feathers on their heads.  Their wings have grown so when they run with them spread out it’s quite the sight. I had never touched webbed feet before and for some reason (probably toys) I thought they would be more solid.  However, the webbing folds up and is very soft and pliable.  Young geese are amazingly clumsy, yet they are getting more control over themselves and can jump up on things now.  Makes getting them to bed easier.

June 21 – So, I had been finding eggs around the yard occasionally and had chalked it up to strange chicken behavior.  Until the day, that is, I saw Sadie walking out of the barn with an egg in her mouth.  She carries them around awhile then leaves them sitting in the yard.  This time she found the Secret Chicken Nesting Grounds (one chicken decides under the tarp is a grand place to lay and before I know it there’s a dozen eggs there before I find them…stupid chickens) and took an egg from it.  She even carried it to the house when I came in to get my camera.  She has a surprisingly soft mouth, and she hasn’t figured out how to get into the eggs.

June 22 – Chickens on the wood pile.  I was surprised how they all hung out awhile.

Flowers are blooming around here.  I went out with my macro lens.  This is a small bright pink climbing rose that was given to me.  I hope to eventually train it to climb the Art Chalet porch.

Deptford Pinks are very tiny flowers – maybe 1/4″ across.  Macro lets me see the details on them.

This was a partial Black-eyed Susan that the sun was hitting just so.

I hope to someday get a true macro lens, instead of a macro filter.  The focus area of the filter is rather small.

 

