I’ve not felt like getting out and having an adventure in quite some time.   Yesterday I felt it was time.   Michigan Audubon had notified me of nature walks at local bird sanctuaries and the one closest to me (in Manistee,  an hour west) was supposed to be on the second Saturday of the month.   A good adventure,  I thought.   Well,  when I got there I was alone.   I did get out and hike through the snow to a platform overlooking Lake Michigan.

image

There’s a lot of snow out there still-6 to 8 inches in many places.   There was just enough wind to kick up some wave action.  It was enough to soothe my recent yearning for the sea.   I still miss the scent of the sea but often the sound is enough.  That and all the negative ions.  

image

It was too cold to stay long so I ended up in downtown Manistee.   It’s a very old fashioned city – they never got around to destroying their downtown in the guise of progress.

image

I had lunch at a coffee shop,  wandered through a fabric store and a toy store.   There I found this tape for my collection.   The name made me laugh.

image

It’s a clear packing tape printed with veterbrae.  I plan to use it to reinforce some book spines :). 

It was a nice day for driving and I listened to a book while I did.   I had just gotten the audio of Dean Koontz’s
From the Corner of His Eye which is a favorite book.  I like experiencing favorite books in audio format as I always get something new from them.  

All in all it was a very fine adventure.

