Even when exciting things happen, I’ve not been by to note them.  So sad.  I think the immediacy of Instagram and Facebook have taken over, even though, honestly, I prefer the blog format.  It’s fun to *me* to go back and see my pictures and read my words.  Much more fun than Facebook.  Instagram is still fun, even though I’ve not even been there much of late.  Life as a driver of trucks often seems to be drive, sleep, drive, sleep, lather, rinse, repeat.  There are days when we stop, but then I’m recovering from the drive/sleep/drive routine.  I do love the job, which surprises me a bit.  I mean, I thought it would be okay as I’d always enjoyed driving around with David.  But it’s a job I feel pride in, and I like that.  I enjoy the work, enjoy the driving through the countryside (the cities, not so much, but they’re getting easier.  I’m getting pretty good with the interchanges).

So, happenings.

1.  Vacation in December to the Bahamas.  Amazing!

2.  Decision to move out of Michigan to the Pacific Northwest – do you hear that huge sigh?  That’s my soul no longer longing for home.  That’s me being so tickled pink I’m glowing.  That’s me dancing in my seat because I’m so excited by the home we found.  David found the home on Zillow (the house-hunting truck driver’s friend, let me tell you!) back in August.  Back then, it was out of our projected budget.  In December, after being on the market for nearly a year, the price was dropped right into our ballpark.  Our offer, accepted immediately (on the market for 400 days at this point), put it squarely where we wanted it to be.  This is the first time I’ve ever been through the home-buying process, so it’s interesting.  We believe the home was on the market so long because it’s a ways out.  For us, it’s perfect.  An hour drive to the truck yard in Vancouver (we currently drive 3 hours to Brighton, each time we get back to work), on a slough that is a quick paddle to the Columbia River.  Across the slough is a wildlife preserve, so there won’t be any houses messing with our view and privacy.  closing appears to be somewhere near my birthday, so happy happy birthday to me.  The moving process may end up being drawn out, though hopefully not too much.  There will need to be some time spent here in Michigan cleaning the place up to sell it, probably as a hunting property.  If you’re here the first couple days after posting, the “I’m on Instagram” photo to the left is of our deck in the back of the house, off the kitchen.  This will be where I have my chai every morning, rain or shine as it’s a covered deck.  There will be some sort of rocker or swing there, and I will be appreciating it so very much.

3.  Truck show and Women in Trucking.  Our company became a sponsor of Women in Trucking, although they don’t have many women drivers – under 10 of the few hundred.  I’m guess under the industry standard of 5%.  But as a sponsor, they got to have a big ol full page ad in the Women in Trucking magazine, Redefining the Road, and I’m in that ad!  Plus, in the latest issue, there’s an interview with me, which is pretty cool.  IF you click the magazine name, it will take you to that issue. The ad with my picture is on page 3, the story is on page 18, and my interview comprises the last three paragraphs there.  As a result of that, we ended up going to the Mid-America Truck Show in Louisville last weekend, and attending a WiT event.  It was a happy event, and I felt proud to be a woman driver among so many others.  There were ladies there who have been driving 40+ years.  I know my aunt Judy drove back then, and she drove a lot.  I come by the trucking honestly – Grandpa, two uncles, two aunts, Kevin and David all led me there.

So, that’s the big doings.  I’ll end here so I can make a separate post of pictures from our vacation and talk about that.  I’m going to see if I can’t get back in the habit of coming here to post, instead of just Instagram and Facebook.  This is more meaningful to me and I tend to talk more when it’s my own space.  So, we’ll see what happens…

