One of the things we liked about our house from the start is the outbuildings. It has a large shop for David and a small house for me.

image

That’s my studio.  Inside is one large 20′ x 20′ room.

image

This is from the door. I have everything I wanted in here.  A seating area, gallery wall, big work table, ample storage, color galore, glitter floor and music. 

David built my work table from sheets of sturdy plywood and 4 Ikea cubby shelves. It’s on casters, so it can be moved aside if needed. 

image

I spend more time seated here than I expected. The chairs are comfy and swivel and rock. I got them for $10 each at Goodwill. The storage ottoman was also a Goodwill score ($4) as were the drapes.  The fun rug is from Ikea, as are the pillows.

image

View from the seating area.

image

My wall of tiny things.

image

The cupboards were our kitchen cabinets in Michigan. David bought a new top that runs all the way across and also leaves a parking area for my paint cart. I painted the cabinet door fronts with chalkboard paint.  That big white desk was already in the room, built in, and it works really well as another work area.  The floor slopes the tiniest bit over there, so moving around in the wheeled chair is an adventure.

image

This also came from the Michigan house. I’m going to set my sewing machine up here.  The twinkle lights are on a remote so I don’t have to dig for the outlet. I love remotes!

image

Bookcases from Ikea. The grey panel is a metal piece from Ikea that invites the use of magnetic poetry. I have a number of sets to play with.

image

My main workspace. I like having things out where I can see them and grab them easily. I didn’t realize how much more creative I feel with my supplies visible.  Dawn told me to get all the things out of their tins and boxes and she was right.  Having the colors visible and handy to grab is inspiring in itself. 

Here’s a few more pictures:
Cupboards with chalk paint fronts. Inspiration board.

image

Built-in desk

image

Gallery wall

image

image

I found this amazing hand-hooked rug at Goodwill.  It needs some repairs, but even as it is, it is a beautiful piece of art.

image

Visitor work station, across the table from me.  If I move things around, there’s also room at either end of the table.

image

Happy happy glitter floor. I smile at this every time I’m out there. I’m so happy I did the glitter floor.

image

Happy little otter painting I did yesterday. I am, as usual, working in miniature. I don’t know why I like miniature so much, but i do.  This painting is on a 3″x3″ stretched canvas.

