image

Phoebe can be hard to photograph as she will look away just as I snap. The key is to keep talking to her and distracting her from the fact I’m taking a picture. Then we get to see her sweet face.

image

Tucker walks himself. If I know we’re alone at the park, I don’t bother leashing him for the walk down to the beach. This time he was down chasing the gulls (who are back on the sandbar – they had been gone during most of winter) before I ever reached the sand.

image

They leave gifts.

image

This is one of the nutria that live in the slough. I glanced out and saw a brown blob (nearsighted, you know?) and binoculars showed me this guy sitting in the low tide area munching away on the water grasses. When I went to get my big camera, he moved to our jetty, so I’ll have to get to see pictures off the camera. He has a fabulous set of whiskers, strange orange teeth and a stance that reminds me of capybaras, which were for some unknown reason, my favorite animals when I was in first and second grades.

image

They’re just huge water rats. We are wary of them undermining our property, but I’m pretty sure the den is up-slough a bit.

image

I love this place we have landed so very much.